My New Blog on Natural Therapies and PTSD


My new WordPress blog offers a more holistic approach to natural therapies for post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) recovery and maintenance.  The premise of the blog is on methods that eliminate the use of pharmaceutical medication and use only natural therapies, such as homeopathy, herbal remedies, acupuncture, nutrition and fitness.

The approach does require that work has already been done to stabilize triggering situations with some form of psychotherapy [I advocate self-managed therapy].  Even so, there are benefits to be achieved, but they are most effective when there is an environment of stability.  This means that life stress is reduced and manageable and emotional triggers are also addressed to the greatest extent possible..  A habit of regular meditation, prayer or other quiet practice of self-awareness will promote wellness and growth throughout the process of recovery as well.

I am not a medical professional, but I am an informed patient and a person who believes in healthcare choice and empowerment. I have studied human biology and homeopathy independently, which I have used to inform myself.  I recommend that everyone do this. Understanding your body and how it works takes away a lot of the self-stigmatization and fear that comes with a mental illness diagnosis. There are a number of great courses on Open University and iTunes University that can help anyone learn the physiological and psychological basics of human biology.

I advocate a systemic approach to health, one which takes heavy consideration of the emotional, mental and cognitive relationships in the body, especially with respect to neuroendocrine function, the body system that is most impacted by post-traumatic stress disorder.

Please take a moment to follow the new blog.  I will be adding to it regularly and hope to make it an active forum for those seeking lasting recovery.

Click this link to visit the new site ptsdhomeopathy.wordpress.com

