Article: Is Fast Food Making Us Depressed?


This is an outstanding article on BBC which explains the connection between food and mental health in very clear and compelling terms. I have been a long time supporter of nutritional and natural therapies for treatment of depression and anxiety and made them a key part of my own recovery program, along with marijuana, of course.

Interestingly, this may be looking at two sides of a similar issue. Bad food can increase inflammatory response and cannabis has anti-inflammatory properties. But, without a change in diet, I never really felt better consistently. I have definitely found more stability, and even remission from my PTSD when I changed my diet. I’ve been able to reduce my use of cannabis and almost eliminate that sense of dependency I had on it. Not only that, my cognitive function has been improving steadily over the last several months.

So, eat well… and read this article.

http://www.bbc.com/future/story/20140826-is-fast-food-making-us-depressed

